Class of 1975

Every VUSN graduate has exciting things happening in her or his life, both professionally and personally.  Class Notes – printed twice a year in the Vanderbilt Nurse Magazine and available online on this page – is an opportunity for you to not only learn what other alumni are doing but also share news about your life.  We would love to hear what you've been up to! Please contact us with any updates, or call 615-322-4836. 

The most recent listings appear first. More info may be available at and in the Class Notes sections of Vanderbilt Nurse Magazine at

Adrienne Ames, MSN’75, received the Elizabeth Jacobs Service Award from the Council on Aging, in Nashville, December 2016. 

Mary Day, MSN’75, retired after a career that includes director of the nurse midwifery program at University of California Los Angeles, faculty member at UC San Diego and certified nurse-midwife with Kaiser (2015).  

Karen Degerberg, BSN’75, retired after 31 years as a nurse practitioner at George Washington University Student Health Center in Washington, D.C. (2018). 

Carol Etherington, MSN’75, serves on the Metropolitan Nashville Board of Health. She was chosen as an ex-officio member of the Vanderbilt University Public Health Advisory Task Force, formed in March 2020 by Interim Chancellor and Provost Susan Wente as a resource during the COVID-19 pandemic. Carol was named to the Tennessee Health Care Hall of Fame in May 2018.   

Chita Cisneros Farrar, BSN’75, MSN’80, co-authored "Pain Management," in the December 2017 issue of Critical Care Nursing Clinics . She served as president of District 3 of the Tennessee Nurses Association. 

Joan Furman, MSN’75, is a nurse practitioner and clinical experiential therapist offering counseling, experiential therapy and a variety of healing services in her private practice in Nashville (2017). 

Sara Hutchison Hampshire, BSN’71, MSN’75 , of Nashville, passed away May 2, 2020. 

Leslie Jones Higgins, BSN’72, MSN’75, presented “Nursing: Managing Chronic Pain Using the TDH Guidelines,” in February 2019 at a Belmont University (Nashville) homecoming event about the opioid crisis and trauma informed care. She was named professor emerita of nursing at Belmont that May. She received the Tennessee Nurses Association Nursing Excellence–Nursing Education Award in October 2015. 

Becky Moreland Hoffmeister, N’75 , of St. Petersburg, Florida, passed away January 28, 2020. 

Sally Tucker Jasper, BSN’75, MSN’83, retired in June 2018 after 43 years of nursing. She taught at Chemeketa Community College in Salem, Oregon, for 20 years and established the school's simulation lab. 

Joan Michael King, BSN’72, MSN’75, PhD’84, is on the advisory board of Nursing in Critical Care: The Journal of the British Association of Critical Care Nurses. She co-authored “Improving Efficiency within a Trauma Nurse Practitioner Team,” published in the Journal of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners , May 2020. Joan was named professor of nursing, emerita at Vanderbilt University in May 2019. She was appointed to the Nurse Practitioner Residency/Fellowship Standards Committee for the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education in 2018. That year, she received the American Association of Heart Failure Nurses Distinguished Member Award and was selected by students to receive the VUSN Sara K. Archer Award for the adult-gerontology acute care nurse practitioner specialty.  

Jeanne Latimer, BSN’75, was appointed to the Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission for a six-year term starting in 2015.   

Diane Lauver, BSN’75, co-authored "How Could Nurse Researchers Apply Theory to Generate Knowledge More Efficiently?" which, in 2020, became a top downloaded item on the Journal of Nursing Scholarship . She was an organizer of and presented at the Student Health Coalition event "Looking Back, Looking Forward," in May 2017 at Vanderbilt. Diane is former director of the PhD program at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and recipient of the Norma Lang Excellence in Nursing Research Award from the Wisconsin Nurses Association. 

Rebecca Bruning Manyak, BSN’75 , of Chevy Chase, Maryland, passed away October 19, 2017. 

Deborah McMillan, N’75, retired from the U.S. Army in 1992 as a lieutenant colonel. She has since served as hospice nurse in Dayton, Ohio, taught nursing in Fairborn, Ohio, worked in home care and adult daycare in Columbus, Ohio, and been a private duty nurse in Delaware, Ohio (2018).  

Ginny Place Myer, BSN’75, was appointed to the Vanderbilt University Alumni Board in 2016 for a three-year term.   

Sherrie Raby Nichols, BSN’75, is senior medical analyst and advisor at Overbook Medical Review Company in Nashville (2020). 

Trish Trangenstein, BSN’75, co-wrote “Using Contemporary e-Learning Tools to Teach Staff How to Use New Online Documentation Systems,” published in July 2019 in Studies in Health Technology and Informatics . She received the VUSN Dean’s Award for Faculty Achievement in Informatics Endeavors in May 2018 and retired from her position as professor at Vanderbilt later that year. 

Patsy Trimble Yarbrough, BSN’75, was a finalist in The Tennessean’s 2015 Salute to Nurses for her work in the Vanderbilt Eskind Pediatric Diabetes Clinic in Nashville.