Academic Calendar: MSN and DNP Programs

Click for PhD academic calendar

*Dates are subject to the VU Return to Campus Policy

Spring 2021

Date Event
January 4 (Mon)

First day of Spring semester for Specialty courses

Important: Please check your specialty class schedule for specific information on start dates for required classes
January 11 - 14 (Mon – Thurs)

First day of Spring Semester for PreSpecialty, DNP, and PhD Courses; PhD and DNP Intensive

January 18 (Mon) MLK Holiday for all students – No VUSN Classes
March– Date TBA MSN and DNP Spring Open House
April 23 (Fri) Last Day of Spring Semester

Summer 2021

Date Event
May 3 (Monday) First day of summer semester for specialty courses

Important: Please check your specialty class schedule for specific information on start dates for required classes
May 17 - 19 DNP Intensive
May 20 (Thursday) End of student change period
June 11 (Friday) Last day to withdraw with a 'W'
August 6 Last day of summer semester

Fall 2021

Date Event

August 18, 19 (Wed -Thurs)

MSN Pre-Specialty Level New Student Orientation, On Campus

August 18, 19 (Wed - Thurs)

ASN-MSN Level New Student Orientation, On Campus

August 20 (Fri)

MSN Pre-Specialty Level Classes Begin , On Campus

August 20 (Fri)

ASN-MSN Level Classes Begin, On Campus

August 23 (Mon)

MSN Specialty Level and Post Master’s Certificate Orientations (BSN and MSN entry), Virtual

August 24 (Tues)

MSN Specialty Level and Post Master’s Certificate Classes Begin, (+ Virtual or On Campus, depending on specialty

Important: Please check your specialty class schedule for specific information on start dates for required classes.

August 30 – Sept. 1 (Mon – Wed)

DNP New Student Orientation and Intensive , On Campus

Sept. 1 – Sept. 3 (Wed – Fri)

DNP Return Student Orientation and Intensive, On Campus

September 6 (Mon)

Labor Day – no VUSN Classes
October 2 (Sat) MSN and DNP Fall Open House

November 20 – November 28 (Sat – Sun)

Thanksgiving Break

December 10 (Friday)

Last Day of Fall Semester

December 10 (Friday)

December Pinning Ceremony

Spring 2022

Date Event

January 3 (Mon)

First day of Spring Semester for Pre-specialty and Specialty Courses

Important: Please check your specialty class schedule for specific information on start dates for required classes

January 10 - 13 (Mon – Thurs)

DNP and PhD Intensive*

January 17 (Mon)

MLK Holiday for all students – No VUSN Classes

March 5 – March 13 (Sat – Sun)

Spring Break

March 5 (Sat)

MSN and DNP Spring Open House

April 22 (Fri)

Last Day of Spring Semester

Summer 2022

Date Event

May 2 (Mon)

First Day of Summer Semester for MSN Pre-Specialty and MSN Specialty Level Students

Important: Please check your specialty class schedule for specific information on start dates for required classes

May 12 (Thurs)

May Pinning Ceremony and Reception

May 13 (Fri)

Commencement

May 16 - 19 (Mon – Thurs)

DNP and PhD Intensive*

May 30 (Mon)

Memorial Day Holiday – No VUSN Classes

July 4 (Mon)

July 4 Holiday – No VUSN Classes

August 5 (Fri)

Last Day of Summer Semester

August 7 (Sun)

Pinning Ceremony for Summer, 2022 Graduates

*The URO has not provided dates for the 2021-2022 AY which may impact tentative PhD dates.