Academic Calendar: MSN and DNP Programs

Click for PhD academic calendar

Fall 2020

Date Event
August 17 – 21 (Mon – Friday) Virtual PhD student orientation and intensive
August 19, 20  (Wed -Thurs) Virtual MSN Pre-Specialty Level New Student Orientation
August 19, 20 (Wed - Thurs) Virtual ASN-MSN Level New student orientation
August 21 (Fri) Virtual Pre-Specialty Level 1st day of class
August 21 (Fri) Virtual ASN-MSN Level classes begin
August 24 (Mon) Virtual MSN Specialty Level orientations (BSN and MSN entry) and classes begin
  Important: Please check your specialty class schedule for specific information on start dates for required classes
August 31 – Sept. 3 (Mon - Thurs) Virtual DNP student orientation and intensive
September 7 (Mon) Labor Day – no VUSN Classes
October 3 (Sat) MSN and DNP Fall Open House
November 20 (Fri) Last Day of On-Campus classes
November 21– November 29 (Sat – Sun) Thanksgiving Break
December 11 (Friday) Last Day of Fall Semester
December 11 (Friday) December Pinning Ceremony

Spring 2021

Date Event
January 4 (Mon)

First day of Spring semester for Specialty courses

Important: Please check your specialty class schedule for specific information on start dates for required classes
January 11 - 14 (Mon – Thurs)

First day of Spring Semester for PreSpecialty, DNP, and  PhD Courses; PhD and DNP Intensive

January 18 (Mon) MLK Holiday for all students – No VUSN Classes
March – Date TBA MSN and DNP Spring Open House
April 23 (Fri) Last Day of Spring Semester