Academic Calendar: MSN and DNP Programs

Click for PhD academic calendar

Fall Semester 2016

Date Event
August 17, 18, 19 (Wed - Fri) MSN Pre-Specialty Level New Student Orientation
August 17, 18 (Wed - Thurs) ASN-MSN Level New student orientation
August 19 (Fri)  ASN-MSN Level – 1st day of class
August 22 (Mon)  MSN Pre-Specialty Level classes begin
August 22, 23 (Mon - Tues)  MSN Specialty Level orientation (BSN and MSN entry)
August 23 (Tues)

 

Orientation for MSN students progressing from the Pre-Specialty year (academic year 2015-16) to the MSN Specialty Level (afternoon only)
August 24 (Wed) MSN Specialty Level classes begin
Important: Please check your specialty class schedule for specific information on start dates for required classes
August 29 – Sept 1 (Mon - Thurs)   DNP student orientation and intensive
September 5 (Mon) Labor Day – no VUSN Classes
October 15 (Sat) MSN and DNP Fall Open House
November  19 – November 27 (Sat Sun) Thanksgiving Break
December 9 (Friday)  Last day of classes for all students
December 9 (Friday)  December Pinning Ceremony
December 12, 13, 14 (Mon – Wed)  Final Exams

Spring Semester 2017

Date Event
January 3 (Tues) First day of Spring semester for Pre-specialty and Specialty courses
Important: Please check your specialty class schedule for specific information on start dates for required classes
January 9 - 12 (Mon – Thurs) DNP intensive
January 16 (Mon) MLK Holiday for all students – No VUSN Classes
March 4 - 12 (Sat – Sun)  Spring Break
March 4 (Sat)  MSN and DNP Spring Open House
April 14 (Fri) Classes end
April  17, 18, 19 (Mon – Wed) Final Exams
Important:   MSN Pre-Specialty Clinical continues during the week of final exams
April 22 – April 30 (Sat – Sun)  Vacation week for all students No VUSN classes

Summer Semester 2017

Date Event
May 1 (Mon) First Day of Summer Semester for Pre-specialty and Specialty students
Important: Please check your specialty class schedule for specific information on start dates for required classes
May 8 - 11  (Mon – Thurs)  DNP intensive
May 11 (Thursday)  Reception for Graduates
  May Pinning Ceremony
May 12 (Friday) Commencement
May 29 (Monday)  Memorial Day holiday - No VUSN classes
July 4 (Tues) July 4 holiday – No VUSN classes
August 4 (Fri)  Classes end for all students
August 6 (Sunday)  Pinning Ceremony for Summer 2017 Graduates

Fall Semester 2017

Date Event
August 16 (Wed) Proposed Pre-Specialty orientation start date
CONNECT WITH #VUSN