Academic Calendar: MSN and DNP Programs

Click for PhD academic calendar

Spring Semester 2020

Date Event
January 6 (Mon) First day of Spring semester for Pre-specialty and Specialty courses
 Important: Please check your specialty class schedule for specific information on start dates for required classes
January 13 – 16 (Mon – Thurs) PhD and DNP intensive
January 17 (Fri) End of Student Change period
January 20 (Mon) MLK Holiday for all students – No VUSN Classes
February 19 (Wed) Last Day to withdraw with a "W"
February 29 – March 8 (Sat – Sun) Spring Break
February 29 (Sat) MSN and DNP Spring Open House
April 17 (Fri) Classes end
April 20, 21, 22 (Mon – Wed) Final Exams
  Important:   MSN Pre-Specialty Clinical continues during the week of final exams

Summer Semester 2020

Date Event
May 4 (Mon) First Day of Summer Semester for Pre-Specialty and Specialty level students
Important: Please check your specialty class schedule for specific information on start dates for required classes 
May 7 (Thurs) Reception for Graduates
  May Pinning Ceremony
May 8 (Fri) Commencement
May 11`- 14 (Mon – Thurs) PhD and DNP intensive
May 14 (Thurs) End of Student Change period
May 25 (Mon) Memorial Day holiday – No VUSN classes
June 5 (Fri) Last day to withdraw with a "W"
July 4 (Sat) July 4 holiday – No VUSN classes
August 2 (Sun) Pinning Ceremony for Summer, 2020 Graduates

Fall 2020

Date Event
August 17 – 21 (Mon – Friday)   PhD student orientation and intensive
August 19, 20  (Wed -Thurs)   MSN Pre-Specialty Level New Student Orientation
August 19, 20 (Wed - Thurs)   ASN-MSN Level New student orientation
August 21 (Fri)  ASN-MSN Level – 1st day of class
August 21 (Fri)   MSN Pre-Specialty Level classes begin      
August 24, 25 (Mon - Tues) MSN Specialty Level orientation (BSN and MSN entry)
August 25 (Tues)
(Tentative as of 1/9/20)
Orientation for MSN students progressing to the MSN Specialty Level (afternoon only)
August 26 (Wed)  MSN Specialty Level classes begin
  Important: Please check your specialty class schedule for specific information on start dates for required classes
August 31 – Sept. 3 (Mon - Thurs) DNP student orientation and intensive
September 7 (Mon)    Labor Day – no VUSN Classes
October 3 (Sat) MSN and DNP Fall Open House
October 29 – 31 (Thurs – Sat) Vanderbilt Homecoming/Reunion
November 21– November 29 (Sat – Sun) Thanksgiving Break
December 11 (Friday)  Last Day of Fall Semester
December 11 (Friday) December Pinning Ceremony

Spring 2021

Date Event
January 4 (Mon)   First day of Spring semester for Pre-specialty and Specialty courses
  Important: Please check your specialty class schedule for specific information on start dates for required classes
January 11 - 14 (Mon – Thurs) PhD and DNP intensive
January 18 (Mon)  MLK Holiday for all students – No VUSN Classes
March 6 – March 14 (Sat – Sun)  Spring Break
March 6 (Sat) MSN and DNP Spring Open House
April 23 (Fri)   Last Day of Spring Semester

Summer 2021

Date Event
May 3 (Mon)  First Day of Summer Semester for Pre-Specialty and Specialty level students
  Important: Please check your specialty class schedule for specific information on start dates for required classes
May 13 (Thurs)  May Pinning Ceremony and reception
May 14 (Fri) Commencement
May 17 - 20 (Mon – Thurs)  PhD and DNP intensive
May 31 (Mon)  Memorial Day holiday – No VUSN classes
July 4 (Sun)   July 4 holiday – No VUSN classes
August 6 (Fri) Last Day of Summer Semester
August 8 (Sun) Pinning Ceremony for Summer, 2021 Graduates