Academic Calendar: MSN and DNP Programs

Click for PhD academic calendar

Summer Semester 2017

Date Event
May 1 (Mon) First Day of Summer Semester for Pre-specialty and Specialty students
Important: Please check your specialty class schedule for specific information on start dates for required classes
May 8 - 11  (Mon – Thurs)  DNP intensive
May 11 (Thursday)  Reception for Graduates
  May Pinning Ceremony
May 12 (Friday) End of Student Drop/Add Period
May 12 (Friday) Commencement
May 29 (Monday)  Memorial Day holiday - No VUSN classes
July 4 (Tues) July 4 holiday – No VUSN classes
August 4 (Fri)  Classes end for all students
August 6 (Sunday)  Pinning Ceremony for Summer 2017 Graduates

Fall 2017

Date Event
August 16, 17, 18 (Wed - Fri) MSN Pre-Specialty Level New Student Orientation
August 16, 17 (Wed - Thurs) ASN-MSN Level New student orientation
August 18 (Fri) ASN-MSN Level – 1st day of class
August 21 (Mon)  MSN Pre-Specialty Level classes begin
August 21, 22 (Mon - Tues)  MSN Specialty Level orientation (BSN and MSN entry)
August 22 (Tues)  Orientation for MSN students progressing to the MSN Specialty Level (afternoon only)
August 23 (Wed) MSN Specialty Level classes begin
Important: Please check your specialty class schedule for specific information on start dates for required classes  
August 28 – August 31 (Mon - Thurs) DNP student orientation and intensive
August 28 – Sept 1 (Mon – Fri) PhD student orientation and intensive
September 4 (Mon) Labor Day – no VUSN Classes
October 6 – October 7 Vanderbilt Homecoming and Reunion
October 14 (Sat) tentative  MSN and DNP Fall Open House
November 18 – November 26 (Sat – Sun) Thanksgiving Break
December 8 (Friday) Last day of classes for all students
December 8 (Friday) December Pinning Ceremony
December 11, 12, 13 (Mon – Wed) Final Exams

Spring Semester 2018

Date Event
January 3 (Wed)  courses First day of Spring semester for Pre-specialty and Specialty
Important: Please check your specialty class schedule for specific information on start dates for required classes  
January 8 - 11 (Mon – Thurs) PhD and DNP intensive
January 15 (Mon) MLK Holiday for all students – No VUSN Classes
March 3 - 11 (Sat – Sun)  Spring Break
March 3 (Sat) tentative   MSN and DNP  Spring Open House
April 13 (Fri)  Classes end
April  16, 17, 18 (Mon – Wed)  Final Exams
Important: MSN Pre-Specialty Clinical continues during the week of final exams   
April 20 (Fri)  Last Day of Spring Semester

Summer Semester 2018

Date Event
April 30 (Mon)  First Day of Summer Semester for Pre-specialty and Specialty students
Important: Please check your specialty class schedule for specific information on start dates for required classes  
May 7 - 10  (Mon – Thurs) PhD and DNP intensive
May 10 (Thursday) Reception for Graduates
   May Pinning Ceremony
May 11 (Friday)  Commencement
May 28 (Monday) Memorial Day holiday – No VUSN classes
July 4 (Wed)     July 4 holiday – No VUSN classes
August 5 (Sunday) Pinning Ceremony for Summer 2018 Graduates
CONNECT WITH #VUSN