Academic Calendar: MSN and DNP Programs

Click for PhD academic calendar

Summer Semester 2018

Date Event
April 30 (Mon)  First Day of Summer Semester for PreSpecialty and Specialty students
Important: Please check your specialty class schedule for specific information on start dates for required classes  
May 7 - 10  (Mon – Thurs) PhD and DNP intensive
May 10 (Thursday) Reception for Graduates
   May Pinning Ceremony
May 11 (Friday)  Commencement
  End of Student Change Period
May 28 (Monday) Memorial Day holiday – No VUSN classes
June 8 Last Day to Withdraw With a W
July 4 (Wed)     July 4 holiday – No VUSN classes
August 5 (Sunday) Pinning Ceremony for Summer 2018 Graduates

Fall Semester 2018

Date Event
August 15, 16  (Wed -Thurs)
MSN Pre-Specialty Level New Student Orientation
 
August 15, 16 (Wed - Thurs) ASN-MSN Level New student orientation
August 17 (Fri) ASN-MSN Level – 1st day of class
August 17 (Fri) MSN Pre-Specialty Level classes begin
August 21, 22 (Tues - Wed) MSN Specialty Level orientation (BSN and MSN entry)
August 22 (Wed) Orientation for MSN students progressing to the
  MSN Specialty Level (afternoon only)
August 23 (Thurs) MSN Specialty Level classes begin
Important: Please check your specialty class schedule for specific information on start dates for required classes  
August 27 – August 30 (Mon - Thurs) DNP student orientation and intensive
August 27 – August 31 (Mon – Fri) PhD student orientation and intensive
August 31 (Fri) End of Student Change Period
September 3 (Mon) Labor Day – no VUSN Classes
October 5 (Fri) Last day to withdraw with a "W"
October 6 (Sat) MSN and DNP Fall Open House
October 11 – 13 (Thurs-Sat) Vanderbilt Homecoming/Reunion
November 17 – November 25 (Sat – Sun)Thanksgiving Break
December 7 (Friday) Last day of classes for all students
December 7 (Friday) December Pinning Ceremony
December 10, 11, 12 (Mon – Wed) Final Exams

Spring Semester 2019

Date Event
January 7 (Mon) First day of Spring semester for Pre-specialty and Specialty courses
Important: Please check your specialty class schedule for specific information on start dates for required classes  
January 14 - 17 DNP and PhD Intensive
January 18 (Fri) End of Student Change period
January 21 (Mon) MLK Holiday for all students – No VUSN Classes
February 20 (Wed) Last Day to withdraw with a "W"
March 2 - 10 (Sat – Sun) Spring Break
March 2 (Sat) MSN and DNP Spring Open House
April 19 (Fri) Classes end
April 22, 23, 24 (Mon – Wed) Final Exams
Important: MSN Pre-Specialty Clinical continues during the week of final exams  

Summer Semester 2019

Date Event
May 6 (Mon) First Day of Summer Semester for Pre-Specialty and Specialty level students
Important: Please check your specialty class schedule for specific information on start dates for required classes  
May 13-  16 (Mon – Thurs) PhD and DNP intensive
May 16 (Thurs) End of Student Change period
May 9 (Thurs) Reception for Graduates
  May Pinning Ceremony
May 10 (Fri) Commencement
May 27 (Mon) Memorial Day holiday – No VUSN classes
June 7 (Fri) Last day to withdraw with a "W"
July 4 (Thurs) July 4 holiday – No VUSN classes
August 4 (Sun) Pinning Ceremony for Summer, 2019 Graduates