Six School of Nursing faculty selected as Junior Faculty Teaching Fellows

Jennifer Ridgway Kim Steanson Clint Leonard Brittany Hollibaugh LeTizia Smith Misty EvansSix early career Vanderbilt University School of Nursing faculty members have been named to the Center for Teaching Junior Faculty Fellows program at Vanderbilt University.

Instructors Misty Evans, MSN’11; Clint Leonard, MSN’14; Jennifer Ridgway, DNP’17, MSN’14; LeTizia Smith, MSN’07; and Kim Steanson, DNP, MSN’98; and lecturer Brittany Hollibaugh, DNP, MSN’14, were selected for the 2019-2020 cohort; eight faculty members from the College of Arts and Science, School of Engineering and Vanderbilt Law School are also part of the group.

“The Junior Faculty Teaching Fellows program is part of the university’s long-term investment in its faculty at critical points in their careers,” Provost and Interim Chancellor Susan R. Wente said. “I am excited to celebrate the program’s 10th year with this outstanding cohort, who will join an interdisciplinary community of faculty who have participated in this program and gone on to serve as mentors for other faculty seeking to have a greater impact through their teaching.”

Fellows engage in a structured set of professional development activities designed to help them refine their teaching skills and learn to teach more efficiently. Activities include a seminar on teaching and learning, individual consultations, teaching visits and dinner discussions. They participate in these activities with past Junior Faculty Teaching Fellows, senior faculty mentors and CFT senior staff. They also receive research funds to be used to enhance their teaching.

More than 90 Vanderbilt faculty members from six colleges and schools have participated in the fellows program since its launch in 2010.

Images, l-r:
Top row: Kim Steanson, Jennifer Ridgway
Middle row: Brittany Hollibaugh, Clint Leonard
Bottom row: Misty Evans, LeTizia Smith