Alumni and faculty honored as fellows by AAN, AANP and ACNM (News Around the School)

Twelve faculty and alumni of Vanderbilt University School of Nursing have been named fellows by the American Academy of Nursing (AAN), American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) and American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM).

Faculty members Pam Orebaugh Jones, DNP’13, MSN’92, BSN’81; April Kapu, DNP’13, MSN’05; and Jennifer Ezell Wilbeck, DNP, PMC’06, MSN’99; and alumni Kuei-Ru Chou, PhD’97; Julie Elam Otte, PhD, MSN’02; and Cathy Rozmus, PhD, MSN’87, were inducted as American Academy of Nursing fellows (FAAN) during ceremonies at the Academy’s annual policy conference in Washington, D.C., in October. Jones is VUSN senior associate dean for Clinical and Community Partnerships and Wilbeck is professor of Nursing and academic director of VUSN’s Emergency Nurse Practitioner specialty. Kapu is professor of Nursing and associate nursing officer/director of Advanced Practice Nursing at Vanderbilt University Adult Hospital.

Invitation to fellowship is one of the highest recognitions bestowed by AAN. Fellows are recognized for their extraordinary commitment to the promotion of the public’s health through evidence and innovation.

VUSN assistant professor Laurie M. Connors, DNP, associate professor Karen A. Hande, DNP’13, and alumna Cara Calloway Young, PhD’10, MSN’06, were inducted as Class of 2019 Fellows by the American Association of Nurse Practitioners in recognition of their accomplishments and leadership. The three were honored at ceremonies held during the AANP national conference in June.

AANP fellows (FAANP) are nurse practitioner leaders who have made outstanding contributions to health care through clinical practice, research, education or policy.

Fellowship in the American College of Nurse-Midwives (FACNM) is an honor bestowed upon those midwives whose demonstrated leadership within ACNM, clinical excellence, outstanding scholarship and professional achievement have merited special recognition within and outside of the midwifery profession. Alumni Desiree Clements, DNP’17, and Katie Page, MSN’09, and VUSN Instructor Diana Dowdy, DNP, were inducted as fellows during the ACNM’s annual conference in May.

ACNM fellows help advance ACNM, its membership and the profession of midwifery through leadership, mentoring and shared expertise.