VUSN faculty and alumni named March of Dimes Nurses of the Year

By Matt Batcheldor

Nine nurses from Vanderbilt University School of Nursing and Vanderbilt University Medical Center recently received top honors at the March of Dimes Tennessee Chapter Nurse of the Year Awards.

The event, in its ninth year, recognizes nurses who embody leadership, compassion and excellence in patient care across nursing specialties.

Here are the Vanderbilt winners, by category:

  • Advanced Practice — Aaron Scott, MSN’10, FNP-BC, Nurse Practitioner, VUMC
  • Behavioral Health — Rose Vick, MSN’07, PhD, PHMNP-BC, Instructor in Nursing, VUSN
  • Emergency — Chelsea Carter, RN, BSN, CCRN, AEMT, Monroe Carell Jr. Hospital at Vanderbilt, VUMC
  • Nursing Administration — Pam Jones, DNP’13, MSN’92, BSN’81, NEA-BC, Senior Associate Dean for Clinical & Community Partnerships, VUSN
  • Nursing Education — Terrah Foster Akard, PhD’08, MSN’01, RN, CPNP, FAAN, Associate Professor, VUSN
  • Pediatric — Bonnie Parker, RN, NICU RN Case Manager, Children’s Hospital, VUMC
  • Quality and Risk Management — Susie Leming-Lee, DNP’11, MSN’90, RN, CPHQ, Assistant Professor, VUSN
  • Research — Bethany Andrews Rhoten, PhD’13, MSN’09, RN, Assistant Professor, VUSN
  • Women’s Health — Leilani Jane Mason, MSN, CNM, FACNM, Assistant Professor, Clinical Obstetrics and Gynecology, VUMC

“Vanderbilt nurses continue to define excellence in their specialties,” said Marilyn Dubree, MSN’76, RN, Executive Chief Nursing Officer of VUMC. “I offer my warmest congratulations to all the award recipients on another great showing at the March of Dimes Nurse of the Year awards.”

VUSN Dean Linda Norman, DSN, RN, FAAN, the Valere Potter Menefee Professor in Nursing, complimented the winners on their accomplishments.

“These nurse educators and leaders are outstanding in teaching, practice, research and leadership,” Norman said. “I’m delighted that the March of Dimes recognized them and their contributions to our community.”

The event was chaired by Kathie Krause, MSN’92, RN, NNP-BC, NEA-BC, chief nursing officer for Monroe Carell Jr. Children’s Hospital at Vanderbilt.

Award recipients were determined by a selection committee comprised of nursing professionals who screened the nominations. The winners were chosen from nurse nominees who represent the March of Dimes’ vision for a healthier, stronger generation of babies and families.