Six VUSN Alumni named American Academy of Nursing Fellows

The American Academy of Nursing has selected six Vanderbilt University School of Nursing alumni as fellows. The alumni will be inducted in a virtual ceremony during the academy’s annual conference in late October.

Invitation to fellowship is one of the highest recognitions bestowed by AAN. Fellows (FAAN) are recognized for their extraordinary commitment to the promotion of the public’s health through evidence and innovation. They are selected based on their contributions to increase access, reduce cost and improve quality through nursing theory, practice and science.

The VUSN alumni named Class of 2020 fellows are:

  • Heather Carter-Templeton, MSN’00 (Health Systems Management), Associate Professor, University of Alabama
  • Kim Kuebler, DNP’11, Director and Founder, Multiple Chronic Conditions Resource Center
  • Sheridan Miyamoto, MSN’96 (Family Nurse Practitioner), Director, Sexual Assault Forensic Examination Telehealth (SAFE-T) Center, Penn State University
  • Randolph Rasch, MSN’79 (Family Nurse Clinician), Dean and Professor, College of Nursing, Michigan State University
  • Elizabeth Sharpe, MSN’02 (Neonatal Nurse Practitioner), Associate Professor of Clinical Nursing, and Director, Neonatal Nurse Practitioner Specialty, The Ohio State University
  • Victoria Soltis-Jarrett, PMC’05 (Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner), Carol Morde Ross Distinguished Professor and Director, Program of Nursing Excellence in Whole Health Care, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

The American Academy of Nursing is comprised of more than 2,700 nursing leaders who are experts in policy, research, administration, practice and academia that champion health and wellness, locally and globally.