School of Nursing’s Ginny Moore selected as AANP fellow

Headshot of professor Ginny Moore

The American Association of Nurse Practitioners has named School of Nursing Professor Ginny Moore, DNP, MSN’90, as an AANP fellow in honor of her outstanding achievements and exemplary service. Moore, who directs the Women’s Health/Gender-Related Nurse Practitioner specialty, will be inducted on June 22 at the 2023 AANP National Conference in New Orleans, Louisiana. 

“Membership in FAANP will provide incredible opportunities to continue working toward advancement of the NP profession and improvement of health care on global levels,” Moore said. “I am deeply honored to join this esteemed group of colleagues and grateful for the opportunity to engage in such meaningful work.” 

The honor recognizes nurse practitioners who have positively affected the profession through their work in health care policy, clinical practice, research and education. 

“I am delighted Dr. Ginny Moore has been selected as a fellow of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners,” said Professor April Kapu, who is also the current AANP president. “Being an AANP fellow is a prestigious achievement and recognition of the many years of work and commitment Dr. Moore has invested in the betterment of health care, particularly in the advancement of women’s health.” 

“The journey to becoming a fellow is not easy; there is a rigorous and competitive selection process, and many exemplars required to demonstrate excellence and transformative contributions to the profession and to patient care,” Kapu said. “Dr. Moore will bring a wealth of experience to the collective network of fellows. She will collaborate, mentor and lead in the advancement of policy and practice on a national level. As a fellow, I am thrilled she will be joining us and leading the future of health care and the NP profession.” 

In addition, six Vanderbilt School of Nursing alumni will also be inducted as fellows: Melissa Bogle, DNP, MSN’06; Britney Hagy Broyhill, BS’06, MSN’08, DNP’13; Anna Goddard, PhD’16; David House, DNP’16; Benjamin Smallheer, MSN’04, PhD’11; and Amber Worrell Vermeesch, PhD, MSN’06. VUSN Dean Pamela R. Jeffries, PhD, FAAN, ANEF, FSSH, will receive the AANP 2023 Advocate State Award for Excellence as the Tennessee honoree.  

Also at the event, Leanne C. Busby, MSN’87, DSN, FAANP, a prominent former Vanderbilt faculty member who helped found AANP, will posthumously receive a Legacy Award to recognize her enduring impact. Busby, who died last year, helped develop the first AANP certification exam, was director of VUSN’s family nurse practitioner specialty, director of the Tennessee Regents Online Collaborative MSN program and dean at the Cumberland University School of Nursing. She served 20 years on the Tennessee Board of Directors Nursing Alternative Dispute Resolution Panel and was the nurse-in-residence at the Betty Ford Clinic. In the early 1990s, Busby received major grants to develop innovative, faculty NP-run primary care and school-based clinics serving disadvantaged populations in Tennessee. In 2000, she was inducted as an AANP charter fellow and remained a mentor and champion of NP practice until her death in March 2022.