faculty profile

Michelle Ruslavage   DNP, MSN, RN, NE-BC, ANCC, CPE



Dr. Michelle Ruslavage joined Vanderbilt University School of Nursing in 2014 and teaches informatics at the Masters and Doctoral levels. She is a Captain with the United States Public Health Service and a Public Health Analyst in the CDC's Informatics and Data Analytics Branch. Prior to that, she served over 22 years at the Indian Health Service.

She has expansive knowledge of clinical, operational, and program reporting health IT applications for hospitals and ambulatory practices. This knowledge has progressed from direct patient care to senior health IT positions. Most recent experience has been with leading all phases of the health IT software lifecycle development with a focus on patient safety, product quality, and exceptional customer service along with managing health IT contracts and grants. Additional proficiencies include building and leading multidisciplinary matrix teams, combining strategic planning with tactical execution, and adept as a liaison to triage issues interacting with Information Technology, nursing, physicians, and executive stakeholders.


  • DNP, Vanderbilt University School of Nursing
  • MSN, Vanderbilt University School of Nursing
  • BNS, University of Pittsburgh
  • BS, Pennsylvania State University

Academic Interests

  • Nursing, Healthcare & Public Health Informatics; Health Systems Management

Professional Organizations

  • American Organization of Nurse Executives;
  • American Nursing Informatics Association/Nashville Chapter
  • Healthcare Information & Management Systems Society
  • Project Management Institute
  • American Nurses' Association/Tennessee Nurses Association
  • Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing/ Iota Chapter
  • American Association of Diabetes Educators


  • United States Public Health Service Commendation Medal - 2022, 2012
  • Vanderbilt School of Nursing Alumni Board: Alma Gault Alumni Award for Public Service - 2020
  • United States Public Health Service Presidential Unit Citation - 2015
  • Indian Health Service Director's Award - 2018, 2013, 2010, 2006
  • HHS Secretary's Award for Distinguished Service - 2004