Shaunna Parker named Women’s Health/Gender-Related Specialty director

June 13, 2024

Shaunna Parker, MSN’11, WHNP-BC, will become director for the Vanderbilt University School of Nursing’s Women’s Health/Gender-Related NP Specialty program, effective July 1, 2024. Parker is a board-certified Women’s Health Nurse Practitioner, with interests in providing women’s health services and patient education to adolescent and young adult populations. She also works to promote health seeking behaviors…

Hart recognized at 2024 Spring Staff Assembly

May 31, 2024

Program Manager for the Ph.D. in Nursing Science Program Heidi Hart was awarded The Belonging and Inclusivity Excellence Award at the 2024 Spring Staff Assembly as Vanderbilt leadership honored the hard work and numerous accomplishments of the university’s employees. The Belonging and Inclusivity Excellence Award recognizes staff members who have exhibited an outstanding commitment to…

Stolldorf among 66 Vanderbilt faculty grants empowering student innovation through immersion

May 31, 2024

Associate Professor Deonni Stolldorf ‘s project, “Implementation Science in Healthcare Settings,” is part of the Provost’s Faculty Grants for Culminating Projects in Immersion, designed to support faculty who provide students with transformative experiences across Vanderbilt.

Three VUSN faculty honored by ACNM

May 23, 2024

Three Vanderbilt University School of Nursing faculty members won awards at the American College of Nurse Midwives annual awards celebration earlier this month. Assistant Professor Hannah Diaz, MSN’09, FACNM, was named Preceptor of the Year. Professor and Family Care Community Chair Julia Phillippi, PhD, MSN’99, FACNM, FAAN, received the ACNM Media Award, and Assistant Professor…

VUSN recognizes faculty and staff at awards ceremony

May 22, 2024

The Vanderbilt University School of Nursing held its 2024 Faculty and Staff Awards ceremony Thursday, May 16, to celebrate the hard work and dedication that keeps VUSN’s programs excellent and highly ranked among peer institutions. Faculty Awards Professor Julia Phillippi, PhD, MSN’99, received the Dean’s Award for Outstanding Service to Faculty and Students. Assistant Professor…

VUSN opens Master of Nursing applications for January 2025 admission

May 21, 2024

The School of Nursing has opened applications for the Master of Nursing program for the class that will begin January 2025. The MN program is designed for individuals with an earned bachelor’s degree in a field other than nursing who wish to enter the discipline as registered nurses. The inaugural class of 30 MN students…

VUSN graduates 449 students at 2024 commencement ceremony

May 13, 2024

Vanderbilt University School of Nursing celebrated graduating students and their entry into the nursing profession with a pinning ceremony and reception Thursday, May 9, followed by Investiture on Friday, May 10. The ceremonies recognized students completing their programs in August and December 2023 and May 2024. It also marked the first class of Master of Nursing…

VUSN to host Nurses Month panel

May 13, 2024

As part of Nurses Month, VUSN will host an alumni panel titled “Nurses Who Make A Difference” on Thursday, May, 23, from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. in NA 161. Join moderator Dean Pam Jeffries, PhD, RN. FAAN, ANEF, FSSH, for a discussion with Julie Hamm, MSN’06, Brett Young, MSN’21, and Nancy Anness MSN’86, about…

VUSN celebrates Nurses Month 2024

May 2, 2024

The Vanderbilt School of Nursing will celebrate Nurses Month in May with a variety of events highlighting the importance of the profession. This year’s theme, Nurses Who Make a Difference, comes from the American Nurses Association and honors the varying roles of nurses and their positive impact in the lives of many. “We feel that…

Kleinpell receives AACN Pioneering Spirit award

May 2, 2024

Independence Foundation Professor Ruth Kleinpell has been awarded the Pioneering Spirit Award by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses. The award recognizes significant contributions that influence progressive and critical nursing and relate to the association’s mission, vision and values. She will be presented with the award during the 2024 National Teaching Institute & Critical Care…