How to Track Content Completion

The purpose of this article is to explain how to track users’ completion of content within the Brightspace learning environment.

Overview

Completion tracking enables instructors to set the method of completion for an activity and provides progress indicators for learners as they complete course activities. There are two types of completion tracking you can use in your course offerings:

  • Automatic Completion – Completion tracking that automatically determines whether users have completed a topic when they click to view it. For some activities, automatic tracking requires users to participate in a chat or discussion, submit a file or form, or complete an assessment such as a quiz or survey before completion is successful.
  • Manual Completion – Completion tracking that is manually set by users. Users can select the completion check box beside each content topic to indicate they have completed it. Although users can use manual tracking to indicate that they have accomplished a task before it is completed (for example, selecting the completion check box beside a quiz activity before attempting the quiz at all), this does not affect assessment scores or user attempts counted towards an activity.

Changing an automatically tracked topic to manual completion resets completion tracking for that topic. This means that users might have to return to the topic to mark it complete; users do not need to resubmit files or assessment activities.

Set Completion Tracking from Module Page

Step 1

Navigate to the topic you want to track

  1. Click the  next to the name of the topic
  2. Click Edit Properties In-place

completion_tracking_2Step 2

Edit the Completion Tracking status

completion_tracking_3

Set Completion Tracking from Topic Page

Under Activity Details, click next to Select Required: Automatic, and choose a tracking status

completion_tracking_1




TIP: The default setting for Completion Tracking is Required: Automatic. You only need to adjust this setting if you want users to manually mark an activity complete, or for activities that you do not wish to track.

in Brightspace

Related Articles